2021 Awards Banquet

Feb 27 at 6:00 pm – Timber Creek Ballroom

7070 Del Webb Blvd, Roseville


2020 Awards Banquet

The annual awards banquet for 2020 was held on Saturday, February 29th at the Timber Creek Ballroom at Timber Creek Golf Course in Sun City Roseville.  The honored guest speaker was John McGinness, former Sacramento County Sheriff and noted talk show host on radio station KFBK.

Each year the Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge honors individuals and organizations for contributions to our community.  This year we will recognize Donna Eckwortzel of Hearts Landing Ranch, and Karen Wilkes for her work with Days for Girls.

The new Sacramento Chapter Local Hero Award was presented to Bob Bryce for volunteer service in the community, and to Diane Nichols from the Kindred Spirits Fawn Rescue Program.

Ryan Peterson from Hiram Johnson High School received the Sacramento Chapter Teacher of the Year award!

Winners of the 2019 Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge Essay Contest were presented with the George Washington Medal of Honor.  They were Ty Boatman (Lincoln High School), Gavin Burnette (John Adams Academy), Sarai Coria (Western Sierra Collegiate Academy), Emerson Ford (Granite Bay High School), Jessica Franco (Whitney High School), Kathleen Rodda (John Adams Academy), Annie Trentman (John Adams Academy), and Zachary Wright (Whitney High School).

Winners of the Sacramento Chapter Essay contest were also recognized.  They were:

High School Division: 1st place – Sowmya Gudapati ( ); 2nd place – Alison Wright (); 3d place – David Zeibert (Rocklin High School)

Honorable Mention: Luke Carr, Adriann Ganir, Noah Hindman, Brook Van Overen, Rachael Patterson, Andrew Price and Maryn Benzel.

5th-6th Grade Division: 1st place – Izabella Zhang; 2nd place – Landen Didrikson (John Adams – El Dorado Hills); 3rd place – Elise Marziale (John Adams – El Dorado)

Honrable Mention: Hijab, Janae Drummond, Abigail Walker, Clara Brasher, Ateca Tamanalevu, Kaylee Sare, Mariah Bragg, and Lillian Braatz.

3rd-4th Grade Division: 1st place – Olivia Chambers; 2nd place – Abigail Kutsar; 3rd place – Hailey Peterson.

Honorable Mention: Zoe Reif, Regan Clopton, Demond Baker, and Saje Aiveana Mediola.

Senior Scholarship winners: Megan Johnston winner of the Rosemarie Groth Memorial Scholarship – $1500; Kathleen Rodda – $1500; Madison Wrigley – $1000; Benjamin Jensen – $800; Logan Sheppard – $800; Grace Brasher – $800; and Caroline Pickett – $500.

We also recognized the 86 high school students who were accepted to participate in the 2020 Spirit of America Youth Leadership Program.

National Awards

Since 1949, Freedoms Foundation National Awards have recognized responsible citizens with our George Washington Honor Medal. More than 57,000 citizens have received this honor as exemplars of responsible citizenship whose daily actions embody our Bill of Responsibilities.

The Leavey Awards have been presented since 1977, honoring teachers for Excellent in Private Enterprise Education. Over 600 teachers have received the Award, which includes $7,500, totally nearly $4,000,000 over the decades.

Sacramento Chapter Awards


Local Hero Awards

The Local Hero Award provides chapters the opportunity to honor local community people who have done something heroic and have received little to no recognition; an unsung hero.

Teacher of the Year Award


Senior Scholarships

Each year graduating seniors are award scholarships based on their academic performance as well as community service and involvement with Freedoms Foundation programs.

Constitution Bowl Winners


Chapter Essay Contest Winners

Pictures from Prior Award Events