2020-21 Student Directors Appointed

Nine students from local high schools have been selected to serve on the Sacramento Chapter Board of Directors during the coming academic year.  They are Mayar Amin from Whitney High School, Claire Francois from John Adams Academy, Sree Sowmya Gudapati from Rocklin High School, Isabel Hanson from Placer High School, Joy Malak from Rocklin Highs School, Ian Matthews from Rocklin High School, Jonathan Munguia from Lincoln High School, James Rodda from John Adams Academy, and David Zeibert from Rocklin High School.  These students will serve as full members of the Sacramento Chapter of Freedoms Foundation during the coming academic year.  Larry Brasher, chapter president explained, “We have found that having high school students serve on our board of directives adds a critical perspective as we plan activities directed for students.  Their contribution has become essential to what we do.  At the same time it gives these students an opportunity to gain valuable leadership and service experience.”

Student Council Adviser, Cinda Wade, adds, “We rely very heavily on our student directors to help organize and direct the operation of our Student Council, which is comprised of students from area high schools.  Our student council in turn carries our message to hundreds of students in new and significant ways.

“We also wish to express appreciation to our outgoing student directors who have served faithfully during the past academic year. They are Savannah Argo s from Casa Roble High School, Robert Jones from Whitney HS, Tyler Nielsen from Lincoln HS, Kathleen Rodda from John Adams Academy, Madison Wrigley from Del Campo HS, and Malena Yang from Hiram Johnson HS, Megan Johnston from John Adams Academy will continue as a student director and newsletter editor until she leaves for college in August.”

Read more about the new Student Directors below:


Mayar Amin

Director of Fundraising

Mayar is a senior at Whitney High school and will serve as the Northern Section Vice President of the California Future Business Leaders of America Association in the coming year. She’s been involved in the FBLA program for 3 years and helped build the foundation of the Whitney FBLA chapter. In her free time, she loves working with local businesses to gain work experience and performing in school plays and musicals. Mayar was also on the track & field team for 2 years as a hurdler, she also served on the Rocklin District Equity Committee, and started the Wildcat Cello Club at Whitney that works in cooperation with the Cello Chocolate company, a non-profit supporting student education through scholarships. She is very excited to serve on the Freedoms Foundation Student Directory Board due to her interest in U.S. history and willingness to serve her community.


Claire Francois

Essay Contest Director and Fundraising Committee

Claire is a senior at John Adams Academy.  She loves the performing arts and is involved with the Choir and Drama programs at JAA. Claire has played the piano for 10 years and has recently picked up the guitar and ukulele. She aspires to be an architect and is excited for the years ahead. As a member of the National Honor Society, she enjoys serving the community with family and friends.


Sree Sowmya Gudapati

SOA Program Chair and Newsletter Staff

Sowmya Gudapati is a senior at Rocklin High School, she plays on the varsity tennis team and volunteers at Sutter Roseville Medical Center. She aspires to be a doctor and is very passionate about serving the community as part of Interact, Key club, NHS, and CSF. She likes to read, paint, and write, serving as one of Freedoms Foundation’s newsletter writers and she loves learning about American history.


Isabel Hanson

Student Council Chair

Isabel is a senior at Placer High School.  She runs Cross Country and Track, is President of Key Club, and has been in ASB Leadership as well as VAULT. She loves math, getting involved in school, as well as participating in and organizing community service. Isabelle spends her time doing anything in the outdoors, traveling the world with her family, or reading. She attended the SOA trip to Valley Forge, and has a passion for early American history.


Joy Malak

Community Outreach Chair and Newsletter Assistant Editor

Joy, a senior at Rocklin High School, is an avid debater, reader, and writer. She has two younger siblings, and often plays the role of mediator in their squabbles. On sunny summer days, she can be found walking trails with friends and on dark winter nights she can be found curled up in an armchair, reading. She is a Silver Key recipient in Flash Fiction from the Scholastic Art and Writing awards and a state qualifier in Public Forum debate.


Ian Matthews

Director of Freedoms Foundation Service Clubs

Ian is a senior at Rocklin High School. Ian enjoys interacting with other students.  He plays volleyball for Rocklin High School and is an Eagle Scout.  He loves nature and enjoys spending time outdoors.  A loyal employee at In-N-Out, he is dedicated to “saving the world one burger at a time.”  Ian’s older sister participated in the Spirit of America program and his parents are both actively involved.  He loves his family and his pet goldfish, Jön!

Jonathan Munguia

Jonathan Munguia

Publicity Chairman

Jonathan is a senior at Lincoln High School.  He participated in the Spirit of America program at Valley Forge during his sophomore year and has been involved on the Student Council and the Freedoms Foundation Service Club at Lincoln.  He is interested in  robotics and has also been involved in the Robotics Club at Lincoln.


James Rodda

James is a senior at John Adams Academy in Roseville. He enjoys sports and plays both varsity basketball and volleyball for the John Adams Patriots. He also works at his grandpa’s store, Pottery World, in Rocklin, moving and setting up fountains, pots, and all manner of heavy objects. He participated in the SOA trip to Valley Forge and had an unforgettable experience. James is the second oldest in his family of nine kids, and looks forward to participating in the Freedoms Foundation organization.


David Zeibert 

Student Chair of the Constitutional Scholarship Committee and Assistant Newsletter Editor

David is a senior at Rocklin High School. He is an editor for Polyphony Lit Magazine and led his school to victory at the first annual Constitution Bowl. He has been a Boy Scout for the past 6 years and loves being able to give back to his community. He enjoys being able to spend time with friends and family in the great outdoors.

Past Student Directors


Savannah Argo – Casa Roble High School

Megan Johnston – John Adams Academy

Robert Jones – Whitney High School

Tyler Nielsen – Lincoln High School

Kathleen Rodda – John Adams Academy

Madison Wrigley – Del Campo High School

Malena Yang – Hiram Johnson High


Quincee Carter – Del Oro High School

Truman Casady – Lincoln High School

Jared Davis – Antelope High School

William Frisby – Hiram Johnson High School

Paige Matthews – Rocklin High School

Kylee Nielsen – John Adams Academy