Posted Monday May 14, 2018 by ffvfadmin

Click on both images to view

entire program

Chaplains Memorial Dedication Ceremony


The Chaplains Memorial was dedicated on Oct. 6, 1979, near the entrance to the Medal of Honor Grove, honoring four Catholic chaplains:

Cmdr. Joseph T. O’Callahan (U.S. Navy, World War II)

Lt. Vincent R. Capodanno (U.S. Navy, Vietnam)

Maj. Charles J. Watters (U.S. Army, Vietnam)

Capt. Angelo J. Liteky (U.S. Army, Vietnam)

On Oct. 18, 2014, a fifth chaplain, Capt. Emil Kapaun (U.S. Army, Korea), was honored.

In May 2018, the names of the remaining four chaplains who received the Medal of Honor were added to the memorial. Each served in the Army during the Civil War. Read about them here:

John Whitehead

Francis Hall

First Lt. James Hill

Milton L. Haney