Posted Wednesday February 06, 2019 by ffvfadmin

Chattanooga Chapter of Freedoms Foundation

celebrates 50th anniversary

The Executive Board of the Chattanooga Chapter of Freedoms Foundations, with President and CEO David Harmer.

Above, essay contest winners Aviana Harris and Tanaisha Montgomery, of Red Bank High School, accept their certificates and medals from David Harmer. In photo at right, Lee and Stephen Pike cut the birthday cake

The Chattanooga Chapter of Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge held its 50th Anniversary and National Awards Ceremony on Sunday with Freedoms Foundation  President and CEO David Harmer on hand to present the awards.

Freedoms Foundation promotes patriotism and good citizenship across the country.

Two of the founders in 1949 were President Dwight Eisenhower and E.F. Hutton.

Receiving the “George Washington Honor Medal” were Retired Lt. Col. Ray Adkins and Chattanooga businessman John Germ.  Lt. Col. Adkins served 34 years active and Army reserve duty with several overseas tours. Mr. Germ served as president of the National Rotary Club and Chattanooga Chamber of Commerce.  Both Mr. Germ and Lt. Col. Adkins have been very active in Chattanooga civic affairs for several decades.

Receiving the “George Washington Honor Medal for contributions in public communications” was Dr. Gary Gregg.  Dr. Gregg is director of the McConnell Center in Louisville, Ky.  The center provides scholarships for high school seniors. Dr. Gregg recently gave a lecture to the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga on Constitution Day.

Red Bank High School students Tanaisha Montgomery and Aviana Harris received the George Washington Honor Medal Ribbon for their essays on freedom.

Gene and Stephen Pike serve as co-presidents of the Chattanooga Chapter, which was founded in 1969.  The chapter is actively seeking new members. For more information, visit here.

The article on is here.